I had never been so afraid as when I thought I was going to jail for DUI. Drunk-Driving-Law.com did everything they could and got my offense lowered to a moving violation. Worked out pretty well, considering.
I probably shouldn’t have been driving after a 16 hour shift, but I definitely wasn’t drunk. The attorneys at Drunk-Driving-Law.com got my charges dismissed due to lack of evidence, which is exactly right.
This was my 4th or 5th violation, so I was quite sure that was the end of my license. Luckily a friend gave me a tip on Drunk-Driving-Law.com and they were able to show that my sobriety test had been mishandled. The charges were dropped…tremendous!
I hadn’t had a DUI in about 10 years, but with the old ones I was facing over a year in jail. Drunk-Driving-Law.com put in overtime to get my case dismissed and I’ll never forget it.
Richmond, Indiana City Information
Richmond Need DUI Advise Articles
Need DUI Advise We'll Represent Your DUI Topics
Need DUI Advise We'll Represent Your Richmond DUI Arrest Video
You can find Website Marketing for Richmond website owners here: Richmond Website Marketing
Richmond - We'll Represent Your Need DUI Advise DUI Arrest References
Richmond, city, seat (1873) of Wayne county, east-central Indiana, U.S. It is located on the East Fork of Whitewater River, 67 miles (108 km) east of Indianapolis at the Ohio border. Settled in 1806 by migrating North CarolinaQuakers, it was first called Smithville and in 1818 amalgamated with neighbouring Coxborough (or Jericho) and incorporated as Richmond, a name supposedly indicative of the richness of local soil. The town's growth was spurred by its location on the Cumberland (or National) Road, which reached Richmond in about 1835. Richmond has remained a centre of Quaker influence and organizations. The publications and general offices of the Friends United Meeting (Quakers) are located there, and group sessions are held regularly. The city is the seat of Earlham College (1847; Quaker-controlled) and Indiana University East (1971). An early manufacturing centre in a fertile area, Richmond is still important in agricultural marketing and processing. Industries include the manufacture of machinery, automobile parts, and fabricated metals. An annual rose festival held in June reflects the city's large greenhouse rose-growing industry. A statue ('Madonna of the Trail, ' 1928) in Glen Miller Park in downtown Richmondcommemoratesthe westward flow of pioneers along the Cumberland Road through the city. The Indiana Football Hall of Fame and the Wayne County Historical Museum are also in the city. Inc. city, 1840. Pop. (2000) 39, 124; (2010) 36, 812.City hall in Richmond, Ind. KennStilger47/Shutterstock.com
Legal Consequences of Drinking and Driving
All state have laws prohibiting driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Whether the offense is labeled 'DUI,' 'DWI' (driving while intoxicated), or 'OUI' (operating under the influence), the consequences are generally severe. Though the specifics differ by state, penalties often include license suspension, fines and fees, ignition interlock device (IID) installation, and jail time.
If you get a DUI, chances are your license will be suspended. Even if you aren't ultimately convicted of a DUI in criminal court, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or equivalent state agency) will normally suspend your license if a chemical test shows that you drove with a BAC of .08% or more. If you're convicted of a DUI, the court might impose a suspension on top of the DMV suspension. But in most states, if two suspensions are imposed, they're allowed to overlap, meaning you won't necessarily have to complete the two full suspensions.
Suspension lengths vary by state. For a first-offense DUI, some states will suspend your license for only 30 days, while others might take away your driving privilege for a year or more.
In most states, you'll typically face increased license suspension if you have prior DUIs, had a high BAC, or refused to take a chemical test when appropriately asked to do so by an officer. Some states will even revoke a driver's license permanently for a third or fourth DUI.
About half of the states have mandatory jail time for a first DUI conviction. These mandatory sentences are typically between one day and a week. In Texas, for example, a first-offense DUI carries a minimum 72-hour jail sentence. (Tex. Penal Code Ann. � 49.04(b).)
About half of the states have mandatory jail time for a first DUI conviction. These mandatory sentences are typically between one day and a week.
For second and subsequent offenses, mandatory minimums are much more common. For instance, New Jersey doesn't require jail time for a first DUI, but for a second offense within ten years, the driver will have to serve at least 48 hours. And New Jersey third offenders face a minimum 90-day sentence. (N.J. Stat. Ann. � 39:4-50.)
Fines and Fees
DUI convictions generally carry fines and fees. In most states, even a first-offense DUI will cost the driver at least $500 in fines. In addition to fines, there are typically fees the offender has to pay. For example, many states require drivers to pay license-reinstatement and court fees. These fees can be several hundred dollars or more.
Ignition Interlock Devices
Many states require drivers convicted of drinking and driving to install ignition interlock devices (IIDs) on their vehicles. An IID is an alcohol-detecting machine (like a breathalyzer) that's attached to the car's ignition system. Once an IID is installed, the car won't start unless someone blows into a tube with an alcohol-free breath.
Have a dui/dwi question?
Get answers from local attorneys.
It's free and easy.
After the driver starts the car, an IID will ask for breath samples at random intervals�these are often called 'rolling samples.' If an IID detects alcohol on a rolling sample, it generally won't disable the car, but it will record the positive test and likely notify the court or probation department.
Some states�including Arkansas and Hawaii�require all drivers convicted of a DUI to install IIDs, including first offenders. Colorado, on the other hand, requires IIDs for first-offense DUIs only when the driver's BAC was .15% or more. (Ark. Code Ann. � 5-65-118; Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. � 291E-61; Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. � 42-2-132.5 (1)(a)(I).)
Other states require IIDs only for repeat offenders. For instance, in Georgia and Florida, IIDs aren't mandatory for first DUIs but are generally required for at least one year for motorists with a second DUI within five years. (Ga. Code Ann. � 40-5-63(a)(2); Fla. Stat. Ann. � 316.193 (2)(a)(3).)
In most situations, the defendant will have to pay the costs of installing and maintaining the IID.
Motorists who are convicted of DUIs involving accidents where someone was injured or property was damaged often face enhanced penalties. Other circumstances that might lead to increased penalties include prior DUI convictions, high blood alcohol concentration (BAC), and having an underage passenger.
Get in Touch With a DUI Attorney
The DUI laws of every state are different. If you've been arrested for or charged with DUI, you should talk to a DUI attorney right away. An attorney can evaluate the facts of your case and help you decide what do next.
Read More Here
We provide Need DUI Advise services for residents and companies.
Closely Related Topics: Can I have my DUI charges dropped in the legal system?
Related Statewide Reading Topics: Indiana - Can I have my DUI charges dropped in the legal system?